RSS Feed

About This Time I Usually Give Up

We started reading the Bible as a family this year. Our plan was to read the New Testament. Things went really well until life got crazy.

Bible

We didn’t read the Bible as a family for almost the whole month of March.

About this time I usually give up.

Throw in the towel.

Quit.

But not this time.

It just so happens that our scheduled reading for the month of March was the book of Mark.Our choices were to stop altogether, double up on reading, or pick up where the schedule is today. The weight of feeling behind dragged me down. We decided to pick up today’s schedule. We’ll go back to Mark another time.

It’s not ideal to skip devotions. When the decision is to quit or skip, sometimes skipping is the better option. As long as you are in the Word.

We picked back up in Luke.

Tonight we read. It felt good to be back. Well… there were a few moments.*ahem*  We’ll call it consequences of our skipping. The kids regressed – sitting respectfully needed a few reminders.

But we’re back!

And it feels good!

Do you have any goals you’re ready to quit? Hang in there.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

