RSS Feed

Light shining THROUGH my Weakness

In my weakness, He is strong.

I’ve read that verse a thousand times. It has penetrated my heart on several occasions. But I often forget the message and live cowering in my weaknesses, hiding them and trying to ignore they are there.

A few weeks ago my weaknesses started screaming at me. They wouldn’t be ignored. Instead of allowing Christ be my strength, I faced despair. I felt defeated and walked in that darkness. The enemy won that battle.

Or so he thought.

Jesus doesn’t leave us defeated. He won The Battle and give us His victories. (1 Corinthians 15:56-58, Luke 9:1-2)

Because I’m stubborn, it takes awhile for the truths to seep in. Jesus placed some women in my path to dispel the words (LIES) I heard and believed.

Then He placed this Bible study written by Priscilla Shirer in my hands (Thank you, Gindi!).

Gideon.

Gideon had fears. Doubts.

He tested God.

Judges 6:39

He was not struck down by a lightening bolt.

God met him where he was.

God asked big things of Gideon. 

Judges 7:7

God loved him through it.

God gave him the encouragement he needed.

Judges 7:9-11

Just as he does to me,

so I can face my fears, and the things God asks of me.

Even in my weakness.

Then, His light shines through my weakness.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

