RSS Feed

Bath Recipes

I almost called this School in the Tub.

Because that’s what we did. Until the book fell into the water. Don’t worry, it’s all dry – now.

bathrecipes KimberlyA.Vogel

My daughter has a skin condition. When it flares up, lotion usually does the trick. Not this time. We had to resort to long soaks in the tub. To keep her occupied, I sat with her and read books. I tried to have her read to me, but the book was heavy and it crept lower and lower until it got wet. That was today, let’s back up to last night.

Our night started like this:

“Mom, I have tell you something, but I don’t want to because you’ll make me go to the doctor. It’s my skin condition. I have blisters. But I don’t want you to see.”

What she doesn’t know is that I’ve researched the skin condition more than what’s needed. I’ve seen the pictures. I know the possibilities. She has a very mild form. VERY mild. So mild, most people don’t even know about it. So mild, I’ve never showed her pictures and probably won’t tell her the full name so she won’t google it. When I heard she had blisters, the worst images popped into my head. The worst. Panic crept up my throat and my stomach dropped to my toes.

In the middle of facebook-messaging my friend, I asked her to pray. She gave me words of Jesus to keep me sane.

I asked my daughter to please show me.

She refused.

I demanded.

She refused.

Why? It’s her body. She’s at that age. She didn’t want to go to the doctor or use a lotion that would burn.

I don’t blame her.

But I had to make sure she’s OK.

So I brought Daddy into the picture. Or the idea of him.

“We can go in my room or your room. You can show me or you can show me and Daddy.”

I gave her choices so the element of control would be back in her hands.

She refused.

I repeated my request in a not-gonna-budge tone.

“Ok. Your room with JUST you.”

She sat on the bed with me. I gently looked. And started breathing. It wasn’t good, but it wasn’t that bad.

“How long has it been like this?”

“A loooong time. Since I’ve been my age.”  (Ok. That’s almost a year. After more questions I found out it’s only been since the new year. Whew.)

Two months. Two months she’s suffered in silence.

I quickly found the oatmeal bath packet she received from her skin camp. Because it was from camp, she readily agreed to use it. 10:30 at night, I’m running her bath water. I haven’t run a child’s bath water in years. I let her roll up her pants to use her feet to swish it around.

She let me sit with her and read to her. We bonded over an oatmeal soak and books.

Today she asked for another soak. I was invited to sit with her. This time she needed to soak for 40 minutes. I was invited. We did schoolwork. In the tub.

My thoughts wandered to how blessed we are. She can wear clothes that don’t irritate her skin. She doesn’t have to sit in uncomfortable seats all. day. long. If she wants a bath at 10 am or 10 pm, we can do it. It doesn’t keep her home from learning. She can rest when she feels bad. Lotion when she needs it. And mom can stop class to google “bath recipes” when we run out of oatmeal bath packets. And what better lesson than make your own bath remedies?

Oatmeal Bath

Oatmeal has anti-itch properties. (Scientific term: avenanthramides) To make your own oatmeal powder, just put some non-instant oats in a blender. When it’s powdery, it’s ready!

Epsom Salt Bath

Epsom Salt is high in magnesium and draws toxins from your body. It also softens the skin. Many athletes use this to loosen tight muscles.

Baking Soda Bath

Baking Soda soothes dry, itchy skin. It also detoxes and has alkalinizing properties. Great for allergic reactions.

Essential oils

Adding Essential oils brings another level of healing. Find what oil works for your need. (peppermint – refreshing, lavender – relaxing and soothing, Elemi – soothing and skin support)

What are your favorite bath recipes?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

