RSS Feed

Creation Debate

Tonight we declared family night and as a special treat, I allowed the kids to eat dinner in the living room. What special event brought this declaration? The creation debate between Bill Nye and Ken Ham.

There are so many thoughts running around in my head.

So many debatable points.

But two things stood out.

Each man spoke passionately about something I agree with.

Bill Nye passionately spoke about the need for America to invest in science in the schools.

I agree – 100%

We will fall behind other countries if our schools do not teach science and encourage students to pursue the advancement of knowledge.

However, the ways to go about this, we probably would disagree on just as strongly.

Ken Ham passionately spoke about how the secularists are imposing a religion on our students while they strive to keep religion away.

“Public school textbooks are using the same word science for observational and historical science. They arbitrarily define science as naturalism and outlaw the supernatural. They present molecules-to-man evolution as fact. They are imposing the religion of naturalism/atheism on generations of students… They tolerate their religion.”

The slide located at 56:30 and 56:53 scared me.

Watch it, ya’ll. Then come back and leave your comments.

One last thing – Ken Ham stood on the Word of God as the infallible word and truth. We need more of that. Amen.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Both these guys have a B.S. Neither guy is well qualified to debate the science. It was a PR event for both. And Ham adds to what the Bible says. Most Christians do not accept his YEC view. http://textsincontext.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/in-the-beginning/
    Here was a recent debate by real scientists.
    http://www.thegreatgoddebate.org/#.UttJFEM6H-g.facebook

    Reply

Leave a Reply

