RSS Feed

Little Doesn’t Last

The freezing wind whispered outside and invited to me to stay home. I wanted nothing more than to relax from a long day. I started cooking later than normal, rushing before evening activities. I stressed. Then she asked. For ME to drive her to the weekly meeting. Dad usually drove, but he was still at work.

I quickly threw together enough food (for me) while she cooked her own meal. (cringe)

I complained the whole time.

It was inconvenient.

Thankfully I realized the opportunity to run by the grocery store, getting ahead on tomorrow’s plans.

Then the biggest opportunity of all presented itself.

Time alone with my teen.

Thank goodness I quit my fit and closed my mouth.

The car ride turned to a sweet conversation. Bonding time.

I now know why my husband takes the time to drive her.

Time together.

And we don’t have much time left before she’s not our little girl anymore. Because truth be told, she’s not little – she’s taller than me. Her sights are towards the future, one where we are in the background.

Now is the time.

To be inconvenienced.

To talk.

To not complain.

Because

little doesn’t last.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

