RSS Feed

When Disappointment Comes

When disappointment settles in your chest like a heavy weight and invades your thoughts with long tentacles, what do you do?

I give into it for awhile, until I’m tired of the fog of unhappiness and start looking for a way out.

Or a way up.

disappoint

Because the only one who doesn’t disappoint is Him.

That sure is a “churchy” statement.

Truth is, sometimes it sure feels like He does.

But look closer.

Our situations may cause disappointment.

Other people may cause disappointment.

But God… He does not disappoint.

We may feel disappointed in God, but the truth is found in His Word. Turning your eyes to an eternal perspective.

Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have obtained our introduction by faith into this grace in which we stand; and we exult in hope of the glory of God. And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us. Romans 5: 1-5

The question now becomes, What will you do when faced with disappointment (even if you feel disappointed in God)?

Read the verses again:

peace – find your peace with God.

glory – in the hope of the glory of God. (note: not our glory, which will disappoint, but HIS glory)

exult – in our tribulations. Our tribulations lead to perseverance, and perseverance to hope.

The eternal perspective – God pours His love into our hearts. We will face tribulations. We will face disappointments. But we will face them WITH God and the Holy Spirit that He give us. Our tribulations are here on this Earth for just a little while.  (For more of an eternal perspective, read ALL of Romans Chapter 5.)

Notice, to answer the disappointment question, it doesn’t say complain, pout, or argue. Ouch. That’s what I tend to do. 

I faced disappointment recently. During the midst of my frustration, I held the hand of someone facing disappointment through death. While my disappointment doesn’t touch that level of disappointment, God is still God in the little and the big. Often, how we handle the little gives glimpses of how we handle the not-so-little.

My disappointment was in a date gone wrong. This weekend my husband and I planned a rare weekend without any kids. Friday night’s plans changed, but we made the most of it, looking forward to Saturday. Saturday we both woke up sick. Pretty disappointing. I wanted to complain, pout, and argue. I also found myself seeking to place blame. The tentacles of disappointment invaded my memories bringing to mind every time headaches or sickness interrupted our plans. Disappointment lead to misery. I could’ve stayed there.  Instead, I sought God for His peace. When I looked to myself or my husband for glory, my attitude slipped until I made great effort to hope in the glory of God (through prayer and bringing scripture to mind). I even found blessings in the midst of our little tribulation. It’s a good thing my hope is not in myself, or my husband, but in HIM.

He loves you.

He gives you hope.

That hope dispels the disappointment.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

