RSS Feed

The Challenge of 2014

“I challenge your family to read through the New Testament this year.”

Bible

The last time we attempted to read through something, we failed. It was a book for advent Christmas before last. Advent = one month. And then there was the last try of family devotionals. That happened sporadically over maybe two months. Then it fizzled. I admit – I started thinking,

“Why start something, just to fail?”

Then I snapped myself back into reality. Well, we know where that thought came from.

That thought was not from me and not from God.

Well, we started. January first = Matthew 1.

And so far we’ve only been off two readings. Which we’ll make up this week.

What I realized is that even if we don’t get out of the book of Matthew, or make it past January, the time I’m spending NOW reading the Bible with my kids is making a difference. The time of discussion and prayer is priceless. There’s no curriculum, no set questions, no activities – Just the WORD. And it is GOOD.

I also started thinking about my hesitation to post this on my blog. Well, the simple reason is that I didn’t want to have to confess to quitting something – again. Oh and the uncomfortableness of someone asking me in a few months and having to come up with an excuse. Bottom line: I didn’t want that kind of accountability.

That’s when I realized sharing this – is community. So welcome to my community. While you’re here, let me challenge you:

Read through the New Testament with me this year!

I’m really excited about this challenge. Even more, I’m excited about the changes I will see in our family.

Incline your ear, and come to me; hear, that your soul may live… Seek the Lord while he may be found; call upon him while he is near… so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it. (verses from Isaiah 55)

So what’s going to make this different? I really do not think it’s going to fizzle out. There is a big difference – we are doing this as a family, yet part of a larger community. We have surrounded ourselves with other families who are reading the same verses at the same time. Community and Accountability. And now I’m offering that to you.

Who’s willing to take the challenge?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for your honesty. Unfortunately, because we want the absolute best for our families, we tend to dream big, really big. Falling short can make us want to quit. So glory to God for your determination, and the realization that this is something worth fighting for.

    I’ll just add a tip that has helped us move forward. Instead of starting something new, ie the first chapter of the first book of the OT or NT or a new devotional on the first day of the month, we pick a goal that feels less rigid. Hmm, this is hard to explain. We might start with a small book, with the goal of reading until we find a verse to discuss, or a principle to work on. Let’s say we start on a Monday, instead of January 1st and read Galatians 1:1-11. If we miss a day, we can pick it up again at verse 12, and we don’t have to “catch up”.

    The same goes for Matthew. The story doesn’t always end at the end of a chapter. Some chapters contain more than one topic for discussion. Reading two chapters on Jan 1, then 3 verses on day two. Maybe half a chapter on day three. It keeps us moving and growing without feeling defeated.

    I hope that makes sense. It has been very helpful in our devotional lives. I hope it will help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

