RSS Feed

Non-Resolution New Year.

I don’t have a word for the year.

I didn’t make any resolutions.

I just want to do better.

Be better. Love better.

I want to do things I’ve put off.

So far, so good. Kinda. I still haven’t graded any papers. Or written that thing my editor asked me to write. BUT I did learn a new craft. Quite successfully.

I love words. I write words. I teach people to write words. Now I write words in wire. (that’s my new craft!)

Image

Here’s an example of my wire jewelry. It’s the first ring I made. I’ll be showing you guys more of it soon!

Image

If you have a word for the year, I can write it for you. In wire. Just ask! (shameless plug! Also – follow me on instagram to see more of my work!)

Now for just a bit of openness… I left 2013 pretty defeated. Things I just knew would happen in 2013 – didn’t. Home schooling did not progress along my guidelines. I knew things weren’t going well, but decided to look the other way. That did no one any favors. I already told you guys about the dating dilemma and the small group we quit. Then add some personal frustrations… and I was ready to wave good-bye to 2013. With no desire to reflect on the past year or set goals for the new year.

But I have a feeling.

A feeling that big things are in store this year.

Yes, I know I’m launching a new blog (just moving this one – same content, just better!) and publishing a book. But that’s not what I’m feeling. I feel like this year is going to be incredible on a personal level. Relationships. Spiritually. Family.

because the former troubles are forgotten and are hidden from my eyes. For behold, I create new heavens and a new earth, and the former things shall not be remembered or come into mind. But be glad and rejoice forever in that which I create; for behold, I create Jerusalem to be a joy, and her people to be a gladness. Isaiah 65: 16-18

Later this week I’ll share with you something new our family is doing. At first, I didn’t want to “put it out there” and tell you guys… but my fear of failure kept me from it. NOW I’m seeing things differently and will share this week. Stay tuned!

And I want to know –

Did you claim a word for the year? What is it?
Did you make a resolution? What is it? Have you found success?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Yesterday I read a post suggesting this great website. Maybe you can use it to market your wire words. http://fiverr.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

