RSS Feed

Comic Strips to Teach Writing

Teaching Creative Writing… Creatively!

Do you want a fun, keep the kids attention, way to teach dialogue?

Comic Strips!

Read some comic strips together. Discuss how we know who is saying what and the clues that let us know what they might be feeling.

Don’t stop there!
Create your own comic strip!

Comic

Draw boxes and create a scene in each one. Add Dialogue.

For the lovers of technology, or the kids stressed out by stick figures, make it on-line!

Here are some fun comic strip creators – and they are free too!
Free Technology for Teachers

Make Beliefs Comix!

Lego Comic Creator

Comic Creator – very basic

After the comic strip is complete, write it as a story. Teach the correct grammar for dialogue and how to use dialogue tags. (Tip: It is OK to use said sparingly, but only sparingly! Said is dead – or at least a zombie!)

Have fun and start creating!

Check out one I made! Think Comics on Twitter. I maxed out the dialogue and artwork!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

