RSS Feed

Plan or Fail

Chalkboard plan-failI’m frantically typing commands into the computer as if my life week depends on it.

In a way, it does.

I haven’t been planning. When I don’t have a plan, I don’t check on all the kids work. When I don’t check on all the kids work, they catch on and they don’t do it. (some of them…)

I’ve tried so many planners. Ok. I’ve tried every FREE planner for homeschooling I can get my hands on.

They all glitch.

They all under perform.

I found one that costs money. I tried the free trial and put in a few weeks worth of work. The weeks came and went. I didn’t enter any more info.

Without a plan, it’s a plan to fail.

I just purchased the planner for a year subscription. Now I’m typing like mad to get enough info in it so we can actually do school this week.

Which means, typing on this page is taking my time –

so gotta run!

Oh, before I go, what’s your best tip for planning? When I have this planner up and running, I’ll tell you my secret!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. I have planned and planned in the past and every year I now at least have a prelim plan, but over the many many many many years of homeschooling – Im staring at about 17 now – I have learned that yes, planning is important, but no, the world is not going to come to an end if something doesn’t happen in my time frame. There were years of disaster and years of progress whether I planned or not. There were kids who read at 3 and kids who read at 6+ and some who no matter how many years, will not master certain skills and some that I should have literally skipped algebra and gone straight to calculus. And methods, they must flex, too. If I asked my 17 year olds to keep a Manager’s of the Homes schedule, I would be asking for a revolt in this season, but at age 8, it was crucial. Bottom line, we can be slave to planning or plan and see what curve ball God throws. I think the second is less stressful personally, and if a week rolls by, like my last week, where we were simply slave to circumstances of college papers due, huge cal tests, 2 kids with jobs and no vehicle, major work deadlines, college performances, and squawking infants, broken down vehicles, etc., it is good to attempt to rest and know that no, the child who missed 100 Easy Lesson three times that week is not going to die and will still one day possibly go to college.

    Reply
    • Mimi, Thank you for keeping it real! One reason I like the planner I’m using is because it’s so user friendly, the whole thing isn’t thrown off if we miss lessons here and there. And what’s this about a Manager of the Homes schedule? Hmmmm… sounds interesting! My biggest problem with not planning is that I forget. Sometimes whole subjects. Sometimes for whole semesters!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

