RSS Feed

Time to Start Again – Church Small Groups

This could also be titled-

Confessions of a Church Small Group Leader

confession small group

Church small groups are the new wave of what I knew as Sunday School. It was easy back then. You were assigned to a group. You went. You went home. If you were lucky, there were socials and prayer chains. Sometimes you felt connected. Sometimes you didn’t. It was easy, but easy isn’t always best.

I love the idea of small groups. Our church still has a few Sunday morning classes, but encourages small groups. Love Jesus. Journey Together. Bring Hope. Small groups allow us to journey together. Live life in fellowship. Be church all week. It’s not as easy as Sunday school, but it is effective.

“Again, truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven.  For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.”  Matthew 18:18-20

Tonight is the start of something new. Our church is launching a new program and my husband and I are starting a new small group. This is try #4 for small groups. We joined two or three groups and just didn’t find one that worked. That’s not totally true. We found one that worked, until it didn’t. The busyness of life took over and the group crumbled. We still hug the necks and ask for prayer from the families in the group. Our hearts are still connected, we just don’t “do life” together in an organized fashion.

After not finding the right small group for us (not that there was anything “wrong” with the other groups… we just didn’t feel as connected) we jumped into leading one. It was rough. After the first list of names turning over and scattering, we’re onto a completely new list of names (except for one family). Two families I’ve never met, and one acquaintance. Exciting and intimidating.

That brings us to tonight. We are meeting everyone. I’m a bundle of nerves. It’s at our house. Our tweens are providing childcare. (My oldest kids will be out… gulp.) Lots of thoughts about how this isn’t what I normally do are taking over my thoughts. I lead children, not adults.

 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10:24-15

Then I remember this is not about me. It’s all about HIM.

They are not here to inspect my house or compare it to theirs.

They are not here to check out my decorating skills.

They are not here to eat fancy desserts.

They are not here to hear lofty prayers or wordy sermons.

They are here to pray, hear from God, and connect with others.

I can connect. That’s all I need to do. Be here. Be open.

The truth is – my house is a mess.

The truth is – there are no decorations.

The truth is – I didn’t even bake cookies.

The truth is – I don’t have fancy words.

The truth is – it’s NOT about me. Unless I make it that way. And when I do, he still shines through – despite me.

Just when I become OK with the fact that people I don’t know are about to see my mess-

the news came that the church opened childcare. We don’t have to meet at my house. I don’t have to open up and reveal all that.

Time to relax and let God do His thing.

Take ordinary lives and do unordinary things.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

