RSS Feed

Homeschooling Through the Unexpected

The unexpected hit us from many directions this year. From the minor (computer in the shop for a week) to the major (death in the family) we’ve overcome them all. With each unexpected event, we learned a lot and remained standing on the other side. Did I mention I learned an awful lot?

hs unexpected

The main thing I learned was flexibility.

It’s one of the reasons we homeschool – greater flexibility. That being said, I like to control the flexibility. We enjoy vacationing off season. I call that flexibility. But it’s a very controlled flexibility. What about sick days, or leaving town unexpectedly? Those are NOT controlled flexibility.

How do you handle the uncontrolled flexibility?

1. Build in days for flexibility. Or weeks – I have the whole month of December for flexibility (except for co op classes and a few courses that started late). If we stay on top of things, we can use that time to rest, or get ahead. If we fall behind, school carries on!

2. Remember, not every workbook page NEEDS to be completed. Replace some history chapters with a documentary covering the same information. Curriculum is just a guide. Not the only way to teach that subject matter.

3. Whatever you do – Do NOT stress.

4. Trust God’s plan – not yours.

The heart of man plans his way,
but the Lord establishes his steps. Proverbs 16:9

5. Believe in what you’re doing.

What are your tips for Homeschooling through the unexpected?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. This is only our second year homeschooling but I learned very quick that I need to be flexible. Pencil things in rather than writing in ink. Because of that, we are off to a less stressful year. Thanks for sharing. ~Blessings~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

