RSS Feed

When School Feels Dangerous

…and homeschooling isn’t an option.

I don’t want to write about this. But the ugly truth is, well, ugly. Last week a young man lost his life too soon in a school stabbing. In my town. All the schools in the area were on lock down. Parents were panicked.

schooldangerous

Last night a local church (the church we attended when all of my babies were born. my old church. hallowed ground) held the memorial service for this young man.

And shots were fired.
Please note! The news report (Yes the local news – not mere rumors) was incorrect. Shots were not fired. A scuffle broke out but no guns were involved.

At church, people!

Oh how my heart aches.

What I want to do is rant and rage and point fingers. But that won’t help. I’m going to give you scared mommas some peace. If I had to send my babies (ahem, I know they are teens, but as we all know, they are always our babies) to school today, my nerves would be fried.

When school feels dangerous (and homeschooling isn’t an option) there are things you can do.

1. Pray

2. Trust – Give your children to God and leave them in His capable hands.

3. Teach them what to do in dangerous situations. Knowledge is power. Tell them what to do when a fight breaks out. It’s human nature to want to see what’s going on, but a whole lot safer to walk away. That being said, keep it age appropriate. A six year old does not need images of bloodshed. You can teach them about fighting without words about blood and knives.

4. Do not put your fear on your kids. They are kids. They do not need to carry your fears around with them. Do what you can to alleviate their fears.

5. Don’t hesitate to talk to the school. If you have concerns, ask your child’s teacher. They are there to help. They want to provide a safe place for your child.

6. Don’t make rash decisions out of fear. While I’m a huge proponent of homeschooling, I caution people about making rash decisions out of fear. If you have a high school student, find out everything you can about local private schools or homeschooling before pulling them out. Ask yourself Should I homeschool? And give yourself a few weeks to answer.

7. Keep Praying.

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. He has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time… Yet this is no cause for shame, because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day. 2 Timothy 1: 7, 9, 12

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

3 responses »

  1. Beautifuly said Kimberly

    Reply
  2. Great advice, Kimberly. It isn’t a school problem, it is a sin problem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

