RSS Feed

Schedules are only good when life is boring

I plan.

I schedule.

I prepare.

I plan to stick to the schedule

NO MATTER WHAT.

Then life happens.

And schedules go to the wayside.

schedulesoff

Because if our schedules were on target all the time, that would means life isn’t happening. Boring. Reality is – life isn’t boring – no matter what your kids say.

I’ll even take hard over boring.

With the hard, at least that gives God a chance to shine.

That’s what happened this week. Life got hard. God’s been ashinin’.

But I won’t give up. We’ll adjust and move on. “Flexibility” they call it.

 Go, eat your food with gladness, and drink your wine with a joyful heart, for God has already approved what you do. Always be clothed in white, and always anoint your head with oil. Enjoy life with your wife, whom you love, all the days of this meaningless life that God has given you under the sun—all your meaningless days. For this is your lot in life and in your toilsome labor under the sun. Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might, for in the realm of the dead,where you are going, there is neither working nor planning nor knowledge nor wisdom.

I have seen something else under the sun:

The race is not to the swift
or the battle to the strong,
nor does food come to the wise
or wealth to the brilliant
or favor to the learned;
but time and chance happen to them all. Ecclesiastes 9: 7-11

How do you handle schedule changes?

(and if you think about, pray for my family, ‘k?)

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

