RSS Feed

Back to School Prayers

After following *most* of my Back to School tips, the night before our first full day of co op (the one day a week we go to school outside of our house), I wanted to be super spiritual for you guys as you begin a new year.

I wanted to write an eloquent back to school prayer. You know, one that Moms would read and cry over.

But I ended the day frustrated because

  • my kids  fought over what storage container they would use
  • someone already lost major school equipment
  • there’s not a clean towel in the house for showers
  • chores were ignored all day
  • the end of summer party we attended tonight had popcorn (allergy alert) – and I sat alone *almost* the whole time
  • just because…

and I didn’t really feel like an eloquent prayer.

Seriously, people, we only go to “school” one day a week. (How do you guys do it everyday?! Some of you hopefully relax after the kids get on the bus… Whew. Getting them out the door smiling is a feat.)

So I found some prayers that touched me.

I  laughed and cried all at the same time. That Family. Cracks me up. Keeps me real. Makes me cry.

Bonnie Gray convicted and (in)couraged me. New clothes for school. Mommy Missional Prayer. Wow. Read it.

Prayer from a dad. Thanks Bryan.

The verse speaking to me today is one we all know.

Psalm 23

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2     He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
3     He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.

Moms, as you send your children to school, remember-

They have a shepherd. Who won’t leave them.

Just trust.

And Pray

Happy back to school, y’all!

What is the prayer you are praying over your children?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

