RSS Feed

Loneliness and Food

There are days I feel alone in my food allergies.

I have some strange allergies. When I tell people that I have food allergies, the next response is usually “Are you gluten free?”

When I tell people my number one allergen, most haven’t heard of it. It’s rare. Not many know how to respond. I feel alone.

Food allergies

There are days I feel lonely with my food allergies.

Social gatherings center around food.

It’s a lonely place to be – surrounded by food, with conversation about food, not able to eat any of the food.

There are days I miss spur of the moment meeting friends for lunch.

As I said – lonely.

Even beyond the lonely – the hardest part is feeling different.

Some people just don’t understand.

Those who try to understand – they are the treasures.

Next time you come across people with food allergies – encourage them.

Taste and see that the Lord is good;
blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.
Fear the Lord, you his holy people,
for those who fear him lack nothing.
The lions may grow weak and hungry,
but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

Psalm 34: 8-10

Even in my loneliness – I lack nothing. I have Him. He is all I need.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Darcy Hendrick

    I agree, food allergies separate us from others because it takes away the one thing everyone has in common – the love of and need for food. Very few can comprehend fearing trying a new food, a different brand, the next batch of produce……………My sister is extremely sympathetic and accommodating, but since I’ve become even more sensitve and my diet is more limited, (not to mention bad reactions have more dire consequences), we have fewer family get togethers for meals. It has nothing to do with her willingness to go the extra mile to accommodate me, she’s very willing. It’s just difficult. There are so many factors and so few absolute safe foods. It’s always easier to just make my own and bring it. That doesn’t even begin to address get togethers with friends, eating out, or just stopping for fast food or an ice cream. But I can say, when I pray over my meal, I am truly thankful for everything on that plate I can safely eat. These food allergies certainly do make you look at life – and what is important – differently.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experiences with food allergies. What you said is so true. Thankfulness is indeed a critical part of dealing with food allergies successfully. Best of luck and blessings to you as you navigate the world of food allergies! (and know you aren’t alone!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

