RSS Feed

Camp for All

Yesterday I sent my youngest to camp – Camp for All. She’s been looking forward to this day all year. It’s her camp. Her big thing. Remember when she went last year? She came back changed. I learned lessons too.

We are all excited for her to have this opportunity. A few weeks ago we had some interesting conversations about her birthmark. She told me about some new friends she met who didn’t believe her birthmark was real. They thought it was a sticker. One new friend looked everywhere for the stickers. He wanted one. I told her maybe he was onto something. We could market birthmark stickers. Remember how huge the mustache fad was? Hmmmm….

She encounters situations constantly.

Because she has something different.

How does she handle them?

With grace.

When she looks in the mirror, she sees what makes her different and she smiles.

BEING DIFFERENT IS NOT A BAD THING.

She teaches me every day. 

Pray with me that she’s a bright light at camp this year. But for those of you who know her, you know she will be.

She just is. A bright light.

This year, for the talent night, she’s dancing to a song she learned during VBS.

Spreading the light.

Wherever she goes.

I just love her.

(she’s my little hero)

Next time you look in the mirror and see something you-just-don’t-like- think of my girl. The girl who doesn’t see something she doesn’t like, although the world would tell her differently.

She sees herself. And she smiles.

So, Beautiful, next time you look in the mirror, SMILE.

And be a bright light – to yourself.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

