RSS Feed

Should I Homeschool?

shouldihomeschoolOne of my friends, that Carol Jones, hears this question a lot. Since she doesn’t homeschool, I told her I had a few insights. Apparently, she decided to feature it on her blog, . Check out what I said.  Then come back and share with me your story. I would love to hear what YOU have to say!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

6 responses »

  1. We have always homeschooled, not for any other reason than we simply wanted to be together as a family as much as possible (pop works at home) and we had the privilege of being able to choose.
    We really enjoy being home and learning to our hearts content, growing in wisdom and seeking ways to further our ministry to others.
    We wouldn’t have it any other way!

    Reply
  2. Nice responses! Our kids are in the public schools now but we always keep homeschooling in our minds as a possibility. There is a chance we may be moving to an area where the schools are questionable. If the schools don’t work out then I plan to get my organizational and discipline skills in order so I can homeschool 🙂 Love that the homeschooling community & tools available is growing 🙂

    Reply
    • I was exactly where you are a few years ago. Then BAM! a situation caused me to rethink homeschooling. In fact, overnight we went from maybe next year to NOW. Best decision for us. My daughter needed us to move that fast. I’ll have to see about sharing that story soon. And yes, the community of homeschoolers is growing rapidly. I’m working on a post now about how public school parents can and do benefit from the homeschool community. Stay tuned! Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  3. My reasons for heading down the homeschool path are something like this –
    1. There are so many things that I want to teach my two boys, that I can’t imagine being able to fit it all in after a full school day away, homework, sports, music, friends, etc. Homeschooling will allow my husband and I to use our days to educate as well as to show and teach them our core values and what we feel is most important in life.
    2. We don’t want to have to unteach them. There are so many lies being taught about our history, science and social issues and it’s important to us that our boys know the Truth. (The Truth Project really set me on fire on this topic, check it out!)
    3. My son, Nathan, has a super short attention span. I’m afraid that he would get slapped with an adhd label and we would be pressured to drug him up so that the teachers could manage a full classroom of students. By homeschooling I can play to his strengths instead of trying to force him to sit at a desk and learn the way that some other kids learn. I just don’t see that working well for him.
    4. Flexibility. We have a lot of family out of town, my husband is in the army, we are in a rural area that requires more travel time for simple things like shoe shopping and a ton of other reasons that we love the flexibility that homeschooling allows.
    There are a few others, but those are the big ones. I’m glad you brought this up, it’s a good reminder for me to review the passions that God has placed in me regarding this topic =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

