RSS Feed

Stuck in our homeschool

School starts back in four weeks. We have not completed last year’s work. Some work will get finished just-in-time. Some won’t.

And I’m ok with that.

(now)

But I feel like I’m stuck. How do I get out? I need a shovel.

I will confess… I had a moment of stress. Rather, a whole day. The only thing that did was keep me buried. Then I reached out to a fellow home school mom on facebook. She shared with me some great tips and listened to my venting. (shovels!)

Through all of my stress, I didn’t pray.

God still took care of me. He gave me a tremendous idea about how to dig myself out of the hole. (Prayer is the biggest shovel of all. If only I’ll grab the handle…)

To get out of this hole, I have to look hard at what I’m doing. I know what’s working. I know what’s not.

I know what needs to change.

Now it’s time for implementation.

1. Schedule. I had a great schedule last year. But I changed it too many times. I didn’t keep a hard copy of the original to show the kids where they were and where they were supposed to be. I didn’t hold them accountable. I changed our schedule so many times it became invalid. (Shhhh… don’t tell the kids, but their days might just be scheduled as well!)

2. Accountability. Dad will have a hard copy of the schedule. I will check work daily. Instead of asking what was done, they will show me and I will grade it. Then the hard copy will get checked off. Dad will stay informed. (We had our first ultra official parent/parent/teacher date meeting this week.)

3. The work that did not get finished will get done, based on relevance and in keeping with the academic standards. Not every page of a text book needs to be read. Some worksheets can be skipped.

4. There are some non-essential work that did not get finished. Instead of completing the traditional textbook work, we will take field trips and reports will be written. It might not happen next year, but it will happen. Living history is always more effective than just reading about it.

5. Admit my mistakes. Learn and move on.

No more stress.

No more guilt.

It is what it is.

A chance to grow.

Maybe I’m not as stuck as I thought I was!

How are you doing in your homeschooling? Ready for the new year? Hmmmm… another topic I’ll be looking at all-too-soon!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

