RSS Feed

The Kombucha FAIL

Sipping my cup of Kombucha today, I realized it’s been a year since I started. I still love it as much as the first day. Probably more. However, there is one thing I tried that I did not like. It was a huge FAIL.

Kombucha Vinegar

When my Kombucha brewed for a week or two longer than needed, instead of throwing it out, I searched the good ole internet for a recipe. I found out how to make Kombucha vinegar. Why not? I decided to try it and followed the directions perfectly,  bottling a few gallons of the stuff. When I ran out of apple cider vinegar, I opened a bottle. Ewwww. It wasn’t vinegar. It wasn’t Kombucha. I don’t really know what to call it. Except – a fail.

Kombucha FAIL

Looking back on the whole idea of using Kombucha for vinegar, I’m almost embarrassed I even tried. You see, I wanted to use vinegar for cleaning and to try it as a rinse for my hair. Why not use Kombucha vinegar? The base of Kombucha is tea. Tea stains. I don’t think I want to use it on my white counters or in my strawberry blond hair. Plus, it was more like stinky mess rather than a cleansing vinegar. UGH.

There it is. My Kombucha fail. What do you do with your overbrewed Kombucha?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Yup…have had to toss a few batches myself!!! EWWWW! On a similar note…did you see the blog about Floride in tea/kombucha? Had to stop and rethink Bucha as I dislike floride…I now use only green decaf tea (which is less in floride) and only allow the tea bags to soak for 5 minutes……Can’t find the link now but I posted it awhile back…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

