RSS Feed

Chores and the Bible

Chores

We are big on chores around here. Not only does it help take a huge load off of my back, it teaches my kids how to take care of a house. I have a system that works – sort of. I realized a few of the jobs are undefined and sometimes a job is done half-way.

But the big problem…

Attitude.

chores

I’ve had chore lists for years. What we needed was a

Household Management Agreement.

The first thing I did was ask my husband for input. Together we called a family meeting and read the verses:

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.        1 Corinthians 10:31

All hard work brings a profit, but mere talk leads only to poverty.          Proverbs 14: 24

 Our people must learn to devote themselves to doing what is good, in order to provide for urgent needs and not live unproductive lives.              Titus 3:14

After discussing what each one means, we read the description of jobs. I want my kids to feel successful with their chores. It’s critical to make sure each child is capable of doing the jobs assigned. Teach your children HOW to clean. You know your child and what they are capable of. My personal goal is for each child to be able to clean the house by the end of Jr. High, if not before.

A question I receive any time I talk about chores is WHEN?

When do you start chores?

I started kitchen jobs as soon as the kiddos are able to hold a cup or plate. When I unload the dishwasher, the kiddos help by putting the plastic cups or bowls away. When my kids were toddlers, I kept the plastic bowls and cups in the lowest drawer or cabinet in the kitchen. That way, they could reach it and help. Now anyone with a two year old “helping” in the kitchen, knows that it takes longer to unload a dishwasher when you have that kind of help.

That leads me to the second question: WHY?

Why do you start that young?

I believe that anyone who lives in the house is responsible for the upkeep. (see Titus 3:14) It promotes an attitude of hard work and productivity. When a child is given responsibility, he is given a chance to succeed. When a child is given a chance to succeed, he is given a chance to improve his life and develop healthy self esteem. Also, when you start chores at a young age, that’s all they know.

Mom, it’s up to you make chores NOT a chore. If your attitude is that having chores is no fun, they will hate it even more.

That’s why I include these verses into our Household Management Agreement:

Verses for Mom:

And we urge you, brothers and sisters, warn those who are idle and disruptive, encourage the disheartened, help the weak, be patient with everyone. 1 Thessalonians 5:14

The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down. Whoever fears the Lord walks uprightly, but those who despise him are devious in their ways. A fool’s mouth lashes out with pride, but the lips of the wise protect them. Proverbs 14: 1-3

I would LOVE to hear from YOU!

What verses do you use when discussing chores with your children? When do you start chores?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Love chores in the kitchen as soon as they are able to help too!
    With having 3 children it has been our way for a while now to have a breakfast, lunch, and dinner helper. Especially during summer or home days this is a must! Equality is an issue when it comes down to it, that can also be an attitude. I do my best to keep equality between them, but a bible verse would be wonderful to adopt for these times. I will work toward that.

    Reply
    • Sounds like you are on top of chores in your house! I love the idea of having a helper. I’ve been thinking about doing it for days when I need extra hands!!! (Tonight would be nice!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

