RSS Feed

I couldn’t sleep the night before.

I feared judgement.

I’m not talking eternal judgement or any deep, spiritual thing, I’m talking about judgement from another woman. I invited a woman to come into my home and see the deepest corners of forgotten about cabinets, and major amounts of book clutter. (Pictures of the book clutter were captured on Instagram. If you followed me this weekend you saw in real time what things looked like. It was fun documenting the process!) There’s something about someone seeing your dust in the corners that brooms don’t reach. Almost as invasive as… well… just know I’m blushing right now. Any whoo, I couldn’t sleep. I. Didn’t. Want. To. Be. Judged.

IMG_20130530_104833IMG_20130530_104746

Morning came, and I got up extra early to clean. The entire day was dedicated to cleaning, but I had to declutter before the clutter expert arrived. All the areas she helped me declutter before… well, they needed another decluttering. (Shhhh… don’t tell her that. She still doesn’t know.)

I even woke the kids – and the husband – an hour before she arrived to help. Yes. I did. Needless to say, not much happened except a frustrated momma.

Before the knock even came I was a sweaty mess. Not sure if it was from the Texas heat or my nerves.

The knock came. Right on time. I pushed my pride away and opened the door.

Organize Em.

Standing there like a breath of fresh air. Her smile and warmth radiated through my nerves and I felt like it was going to be OK.

Her encouraging and soothing words put my mind to ease. I felt no judgement. Not even when we moved a computer desk and found enough food for a complete meal, allbeit covered with layers of dust. I felt no judgement. Not even when the kids didn’t listen for the umpteenth time. I felt no judgement. Not even when *someone* lost their temper. There was only help. And freedom.

She taught me.

How to organize.

How to throw things out.

How to find freedom and release from the things I don’t know what to do with.

She reminded me that I have someone there in times of anxiety.

There was a lot. of anxiety. She walked me through it. Sometimes her words were hard to hear, but she covered them in love and reality. Because she knows my dreams and wants to do all she can to help me reach them. Let me tell you – EVERYONE needs someone like that.

Seriously folks, I couldn’t do it on my own. I would’ve given up. Walked away. Quit.

But she helped me stay the course. And look.

401790_10201112505193172_1781100142_n

*sigh* it’s beautiful.

2013-06-01 18.18.38

I feel so accomplished. And proud.

Thank you, Organize Em. To you, it was an overload of books and a stressed out mom. To me, it was a lifesaver. You listened, you caught my vision, you helped me stay the course.

AND WE DID IT!

We conquered the clutter. (Four or five kitchen sized trash bags of trash and five or six boxes of books to sell/donate.)

Thank you.

You didn’t judge.

You stayed.

You taught me.

You encouraged me through it.

Guess what? She can help you too!

Leave a Reply

