RSS Feed

Book Clutter

There is no such thing as too many books! Or is there?

I have too many books. So says my husband. And kids. And probably anyone else that comes into my house.

I want to stand up and shout, “There is NO such thing as too many books!”

Until I see that piles of books are everywhere.

Everywhere.

And it is causing a lot of anxiety.

Finally, my husband asked me to find a new home for a few. A few bookshelves worth, that is.

Funny thing is – I am coordinating a used book sale for our homeschool group.

I think deep down I’ve known it for awhile too. Why else would I sign up to help lead something like that?!

The problem is, books are my friends. How do you get rid of something you hold dear? Every time I think about going through the books, panic sets in. Really. As in panic attack. How do I handle it? By walking away. And the books keep staring at me and I keep walking away.

So, I did what I’ve been avoiding. I called Organize Em.

(Sound familiar? I’m noticing a pattern in my life.)

Her advice –

One book at a time.

Separate into two piles. Get rid of and maybe keep.

I won’t tell you how much that freaks me out.

She will come over and help with the maybe keep pile.

Here goes.

I’ll be posting pictures on Instagram. Follow me and see what the progress is. (bestmom4girls)

For now, I’ll be taking deep breaths and trying not to panic. I can do this!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Look at this pin on my board… you’ll love it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

