RSS Feed

Miracle!

Yesterday I hinted about myBirthday Miracle. This is not that story. That was a miracle beyond miracles. This is a miracle of the every-day sort. But hey, a miracle is a miracle. And miracles all start with faith. After yesterday’s tragedy, I almost decided not to run this story. After yesterday it seems trivial. Then I realized… after watching (and rewatching) the bombing of one of America’s Prides, we need to embrace any miracle we come across. Even those that may seem trivial to some. A miracle is still a miracle. And we need to see as many miracles as we can!

I won’t lie. My food allergies get in the way of a lot of things. A LOT. I’ve said no to things just because of the food issue. I have dreams of taking mission tips and serving God but don’t pursue them due to – yep… food allergies.

What really troubles me is when I say to NO to a ministry opportunity. I do seek God and through prayer ask what HE plans for me. Up until now, it’s been to say no. Remember when I was presented with the opportunity to bridge the gap with some Arab sisters? My heart filled with joy. I really wanted to meet with them. Then I heard it was to be a feast. They were going to cook for us. My heart plummeted. I thought about cancelling. I prayed. I knew I was to go. But what about the food?! I decided to just trust. The day of the festivities, I saw a friend and asked her to pray for me. She stopped RIGHT THERE and Prayed. It wasn’t a “Dear God, Help her to not be sick” prayer. It was filled with words of healing and praise for the ONE who Heals. After the prayer she asked me if I received it. Gulp. Did I? Could I trust. YES! I answered. I will trust.

So I did.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13

I filled my plate with food. Someone did ask if any of the dishes had garlic, so I stayed away from just a few. Let me tell you, I ate foods I haven’t eaten since my diagnosis. I ate plates of food that normally would cause serious repercussions – from just a BITE. I ate 4 dishes with dairy. I ate some that even had *gasp* garlic. I’m all for faith, but not a fan of pure stupidity, so I did take a little dose of allergy meds and I used essential oils. I also didn’t pig out. I ate slowly and made sure I wasn’t reacting before taking more bites. Let me be clear – with the foods I ate, there is NO WAY the little bit of meds and oils could’ve curtailed a huge reaction. We’re talking a reaction requiring cancelling all plans and staying in bed for about 3 days. If not more serious. Yet I only had a teeny tiny headache.

I believe it was a miracle. A MIRACLE.

I’m sure you have questions and are thinking what I was… that maybe I really can eat some of those foods, or maybe that God healed me of all allergies! (That would be great!) So let me tell you about today. My husband and I made burger patties. One pan had spices with garlic, one didn’t  We mixed of the spatula and one of my patties had cross reaction with garlic. I also ate 4 potato chips that had a less than 2% ingredient. Guess what? I reacted. Thankfully it wasn’t a big reaction. I had a nice headache for a few hours. That tells me I’m still allergic. There was no long term healing. When the headache first started I heard that little voice that speaks to my heart.

I healed you last night so you could serve me. I wanted to show my power when you trust.

Your ways, God, are holy.
What god is as great as our God?
You are the God who performs miracles;
you display your power among the peoples.
With your mighty arm you redeemed your people          Psalm 77:13-15

Wow.

I am so thankful.

I am so blessed.

I am honored that God chose me use and show His power.

Miracles happen when you build bridges in FAITH.

So that’s my little miracle. What is one of yours?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful! My little miracle was getting the chance to pray for a cashier at WalMart and there wasn’t a soul in line in the middle of the day! He parted the sea of people for this woman that He wanted to love on : )

    Reply
    • I love that story!!! The last time I was in Walmart, I felt the need to pray for someone… and I walked away. *so ashamed* I missed the blessing and miracle on that one. You encourage me – next time I will stop and pray.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

