RSS Feed

What Your Child Really Wants

whatyourchildreallywantsSometimes conversations just stop you in your tracks. The words penetrate your heart and they just aren’t forgotten.

This conversation is one I pray I never forget.

I must confess, it wasn’t a conversation for my ears. I just happened to overhear it. Kids were talking – a bit deeper than the normal what happened on the playground or did you see that TV show – it was a “what I really want” conversation.

“What I really want is more time with my mom.”

“Aren’t you with her ALL the time? You home school. Don’t you stay together all the time?”

“Yeah, but she’s so busy. We’re always running around. When we ARE home she keeps doing stuff. When she’s not doing stuff she just yells.”

Can you hear her heart cry? She hungers for her mom. To just be with her. No more yelling. No more busy.

Time. Love. Acceptance.

I can also hear the mom’s heart. Homeschool. Provide opportunities. Give the kids the World. Go – Go – Go. Give – Give – Give.

Pure exhaustion. Frustration. Yelling.

Mom’s, I have a message from you. Do you hear the little girl?

What I really want is Mommy’s time. Her love. Her acceptance – HER.

Your children want you. Your time, attention, and love. To them, that is the WORLD.

Building bridges is more about time than activities – more being and less doing.

I’m in? Are you? If you could give something up to add more one on one time with your kids, what would it be? Leave a comment – it might just give another mom a great idea!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

5 responses »

  1. Just to point out – it wasn’t my kids that had the conversation, although it could have been.

    One thing I’m doing is limiting how much drive time takes me away from schooling the kids. Constant taxi service is too stressful. We are adding in some stay home to home school days.

    Reply
  2. Just last week, my 7 yr old son opened my eyes to the very same thing! We homeschool, and so I assumed we were getting enough time together, but he came to me and asked for “special mom/J time.” He said he gets lots of time with his little brother and dad, but didn’t feel like he was getting enough time with me. It broke my heart. I have been super busy nesting for our baby #3 (who’s due soon) and I have been focusing on making sure the boys have enough bonding time with Dad (who works full time and has a second part-time job so I can stay at home), but I was completely neglecting the QUALITY time with me!

    This post is so amazing–especially for moms whose kids aren’t as straight-forward as my J. Great work!

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment! It’s not long before they move into the phase of NOT wanting as much time, or wanting it yet not asking for it while being resentful of not having it. It’s also known as the teen years.
      What a blessing to have such a hard working husband so you can focus on the kids. And to bring another blessing to the mix! That quality time is going to become so critical yet even harder to find. But I’m confident you’ll do all and be all you can for your kiddos!
      Blessing upon blessing to you – happy fam!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

