RSS Feed

Chicken Broth

Chicken Bone Broth – Part Two

In Part One, I told you about the benefits to making your own chicken broth. Here’s a recap:

  • economical
  • healthy
  • healing properties

You’ve roasted the chickens and all (or most, it’s OK to leave some) the meat is off the bones. Now you are ready to make broth! Remember, this is just how I make broth. You don’t have to roast your chicken first. It’s important to remember that there is a difference in health benefits from chicken broth and chicken BONE broth. You want the nutrients and minerals that come from the bones. The broth you buy in the stores not only does NOT have this, they add all kinds of sodium, MSG, and preservatives. Due to my food allergies, I can’t risk buying it from the store. Once you get the hang of how easy this is… you won’t go back! Did you realize not all chicken broth is gluten free? This is!

Chicken Broth

Drop the bones back into the pot you cooked the chickens. There should be a gelatinous substance left in the pot. You can also put everything into a crock pot. Remember the innards you kept? (First step in Roasting Chickens.) Throw those in too. Fill the pot with water, add a Tablespoon or two of Apple Cider Vinegar (any acid will work – it draws the nutrients out of the bones) and cook on medium just until it starts to bubble. Turn it to low and simmer for 12 to 24 hours. For the last few hours add some veggies (completely optional). Some people have veggies in the whole time, but I’ve heard that onions can turn bitter after 8 hours.  Strain the broth and store in the fridge.  After it has cooled in the fridge, the fat rises to the top and hardens. I throw that part away. The broth can last in the fridge for up to ten days.

This is where I’m supposed to have a picture of the broth all done and strained – liquid gold… but we ate it all before I could take a picture.

Here’s a little secret most don’t realize – you can use the same bones to make more broth! Put all the bones BACK into the pot, cover with water and do the whole process again! However, I find that each batch will be a bit more watery, so I just do it twice, if that long. By this time, I’m ready to move on… but some people keep continual batches of stock brewing. I only use the second and third brewings for boiling rice or quinoa. I’ll immediately freeze this broth and label the bag accordingly.

What do you use the broth for? Anytime a recipe calls for it. But that’s just the start. I use broth  in place of water when cooking rice, quiona, or potatoes (as I just mentioned, this is usually the second-batch broth). For a quick lunch, I heat some broth and throw in some veggies, rice, or roasted chicken. It’s a great way to use up leftovers! Some people just drink it plain. I’m not there yet. I have to add something into my broth. What isn’t used after a few days, I store in freezer bags in two cup increments. Anytime I need some, I just thaw a bag enough to open it then heat the block of frozen broth on the stove until it’s liquid again. I haven’t had to buy broth at the store since I made my first stockpile. I probably have ten bags frozen now, with two birds ready to cook tomorrow.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

9 responses »

  1. Ha, I just checked and as of yesterday I have 37 single cups of broth in my freezer. I use my crock pot on low for more like 36 hours until the bones can literally disintegrate by pinching them. I do add veggies, but never onions at our house (allergies!) and many taste great in longer than the last few hours.

    Beef bone broth is excellent as well. Buy roughly 2 lbs. beef bones at grocer, or even better, get them farm fresh! Roast them for 20-30 mins at 400. Put them in my 7Qt crock, fill with water, cook 24 hours, strain, cool, skim fat, freeze in 1 cup portions and LABEL them. Broths are difficult to distinguish but looks or smell when frozen.

    Most broth in my house from Dec – March is turkey. My mom, mother in law and I all make turked using only fresh herbs and we do not stuff it so I get MANY batches of broth. The cooled carcass can be frozen if you realize you won’t have time to make the broth right away. Then thaw overnight in the fridge and broth away!

    I find the crock pot easier only because I can leave it on and not worry about live fire. BUT you may have to add water every 12 hours or so.

    Thanks for this post! It reminded me I have tips to share too.

    Reply
    • Karla, You always have such great tips!!! I have a turkey in the freezer that I need to thaw and cook – then make broth!!! At Christmas, I made sure my dad saved the carcass for me, but I left it at my sister’s house!!! I was so sad I missed the chance to make broth! Such a waste! March will be turkey broth month for me! I would LOVE to use a crock pot for my broth, but mine isn’t big enough! It is on my wish list! Keep the tips coming!

      Reply
  2. Bernice Coulter

    I cook mine 3 times, until the bones can easily be crushed between my fingers. I take all the broths and mix them together. The first cooking has more flavor, but the last cooking probably has more nutrients from the bones. By mixing them, I get a more balance broth in terms of flavor and nutrients.

    Reply
  3. We love bone and meat broth at our house. Everyone usually drinks some at least once a day! My 10 month old sucks down his sippy cup of it. 🙂

    Reply
    • Nicole… I’m getting there. I really want to be able to just drink some plain… but for whatever reason just.can’t.do.it. I’ll keep trying!!! What was your reason for starting broths?

      Reply
  4. I have left the fat on in the freezer because it seals the broth on top while in the container (in case it isn’t air tight. When I’m ready to use, I run cool water over the container, pop out the broth, lay it on its side and cut the fat layer off (soooo easy). I make 2 batches with each carcass. The first one take 24-36 hours for desired consistency and flavor, the second batch can be just as good if you add 12 hours to cook time. And I too have refridgerated both batches and mixed them. To mix them though you must skim fat pre-freeze; it’s just easier to do it.

    Beef broth doesn’t have the same layer of fat that poultry has, it has instead this green scum. It looks gross but is just as easy to cut off like the fat layer. It is harder (for me) to get it off pre-freeze.

    Has anyone used wild duck to make broth? Imagine the natural vitamins and minerals available in WILD duck or geese! And since the flavor is so much stronger, I bet it would liven up a dish if you mixed it 50/50 with a chicken/turkey broth. mmmm, salivating!

    Reply
  5. Bernice Coulter

    I have had broth from goose, duck, and ptarmagin. They are all really good, but different from chicken. The meats from the wild birds are very lean, esp if they are taken during and/or after migration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

