RSS Feed

The Skinny on One New Thing

file000237525306The world has an obsession with SKINNY. It’s a love/hate/deny/embrace kind of obsession. People desire skinny and will destroy their bodies to get there. People look at skinny with a jealousy and hate. People close their eyes to skinny or see it everywhere. Yet what is skinny? Everyone’s perception of skinny is different, as well as beliefs about if it’s a good thing or not.

Am I skinny?

I’ve lost a lot of weight. According to my BMI, I went from overweight to normal. Remember the belt I tightened another 8 notches? I lost six inches!

But I don’t always feel skinny. When I go shopping, I still look at clothes that will hide what used to be there. When I look in the mirror, I smile at the changes. But on bad days, I just see what else needs to change – the flab that remains. One thing is for sure – Instead of getting on the scale to beat myself up, I get on to tell myself what a great job I’ve done.  Yet I still wonder if I’m skinny. The world has such a mixed up view on beauty and skinny that I don’t know what skinny is supposed to look like. So I’m going to stop looking for it. I’m going to stop asking that question.

One New Thing is NOT to promote skinny. As women, it’s easy to get caught up in the world’s mindset of that undefined word.

One New Thing is about striving for healthy living.

And if the pounds drop off (only to reach healthy) then it’s a good thing.

While I’m not looking for skinny, I am looking for healthy.

Am I healthy? It’s what I’m striving for!

And that’s what One New Thing is all about.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. In relation to weight, what makes one feel good and confident is their “skinny” … as long as one is healthy in their “skinny”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

