RSS Feed

Sweeping While Wearing Muddy Shoes

It just took one glance at the floor for me to drop everything and grab the broom. I quickly swept the area near the back door and walked off without bothering to clean up the pile and throw the dirt away. Walking back into the kitchen, I resumed preparations of oatmeal. While the water rose in tempurature, but not yet boiling, I saw more dirt on the floor. I grabbed the broom again (easy to do since I hadn’t bothered to put it away) and swept more dirt into yet another unpicked up pile. Oatmeal making commenced. It didn’t take long (I used super-fast instant-in-a-minute oats) and the oatmeal’s ready. As I called the kids for breakfast, I noticed another pile (in the entryway this time) of dirt waiting to be picked up and thrown away. Coming from the pile were tendrils of pine needles and, you guessed it – DIRT that spread out over the entryway. Our floors just were not staying clean! I felt like I was sweeping while wearing muddy shoes!

Then it hit me. That’s just like my life. I sweep unwanted behaviors, thoughts, and actions into a pile. And I leave it there. Because I don’t take the simple step to scoop it all up and throw it away, the dirt spreads out again creating a messy floor. It’s as effective as sweeping while wearing muddy shoes.

Take the time to dispose of the unwanted dirt (sin) in your life.

Sweep the dirt into a pile by acknowledging the sin (dirt). Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord”— and you forgave the guilt of my sin. Psalm 32:5

Don’t stop there. Scoop it up and throw it away through confession and forgiveness. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

Shake the dust off your hands through a repentant heart. Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord. Acts 3:19

One more thing – To keep dirt out of your house, don’t even bring it in. Take your muddy shoes off at the door so no dirt enters your house. Do not put out the Spirit’s fire; do not treat prophecies with contempt. Test everything. Hold on to the good. Avoid every kind of evil. May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it. 1 Thessalonians 5:19-22

Now excuse me while I sweep up my piles – right after I take off my muddy shoes.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

