RSS Feed

One New Thing – Endure the Race

The Houston Marathon was yesterday. It was cold, rainy day. When I woke up, I didn’t want to leave the house. I don’t think any of the runners woke up and thought, It’s cold and rainy, I think I’ll stay home today. After months of hard work and preparation, a little bit of rain wasn’t enough to keep the runners from their long anticipated race.

As the New Year is still new and fresh starts are each morning, be encouraged to run the race before you.

My race is my health.

What is yours?

I’ll admit, this message is for me too. It’s been a discouraging week. I’ll share more about that in a detailed post later this week. There was one bright spot. I put on a belt I haven’t worn in a few months. When I started to tighten it, I couldn’t believe how much tighter I could fasten it! The leather is crinkled, cracked, and worn – it does not lie about where it used to fit. I counted 8 notches tighter! Next week I’ll tell you how many inches that equals and how One New Thing has spurred me on towards my goal! Until then, I leave you with this verse:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. Hebrews 12: 1-3

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

