RSS Feed

Recipe Switch-A-Roo for Christmas

I probably spent more time researching than I will actually cook. It’s all a learning curve when dealing with multiple food allergies and intollerances.

A few weeks ago I decided to try to replace some favorite family recipes with allergy free ones. My Recipe Switch-A-Roo began.

I didn’t realize what a tall order that was going to be. Only one recipe was an easy fix. The sweet potato casserole my sister makes has egg in it. She will just leave out the eggs. They aren’t really necessary. Best part of this recipe – my sister makes it! Some recipes I threw right out of the window. Humdingers. These are little nut clusters that stick together with a corn syrup mixture then are rolled in powdered sugar. Take out the syrup and sugars and you basically have the KimBars I make. Not holiday treats anymore. Another recipe I threw out was remaking the injection for fried turkeys. Too much work for something that probably won’t taste that good. What’s a cajun recipe without garlic? I did find some recipes worth trying.

Peanut Butter Balls *Switch-A-Roo* to Nut Butter Balls from Elana’s Pantry

  • Anytime I opened the Almond Butter to make this recipe, I ate some. I plan to make it on Saturday.
  • In other baking, I realized the vanilla extract gave me a headache. Extracts have alcohol and gluten in them. Most alcohol is grain based (and corn derived). I’ve been searching for gluten-free vanilla. I also found some that doesn’t use alcohol! Didn’t know there was such a thing. I bought both and hopefully can use one of them.

Cinnamon Rolls *Switch-A-Roo* to Cinnamon Swirl Breakfast Cake from Real Sustenance

  • I made one change. She calls for lemon juice. I don’t do citrus. I found out the lemon juice reacts with the baking powder to help it rise, so there needs to be an acid. I replaced it with Apple Cider Vinegar.
  • Brittany also has a cinnamon roll recipe on her blog. I want to try it soon! I decided to try this one first (it’s less work with no dough to roll) and if it gets two thumbs up, to make the cinnamon rolls. Looks like I’ll be making cinnamon rolls soon!

Snickerdoodles *Switch-A-Roo* to Snickerdoodle Cookies from Urban Poser

  • My daughter made these for me! They came out a little oily, so we will reduce the amount of coconut oil.
  • We replaced honey with coconut nectar.
  • I did miss the sugar crunch granulated sugar gives these cookies, I might sprinkle some on top.

Christmas Cookie Cut-outs *Switch-A-Roo* to Star Cookies from Elana’s Pantry

  • These are still on my to-do list. We’ve been waiting for our cousins.
  • Not sure what I will use for icing. I may make my own powdered sugar to use in a simple royal icing recipe.

In all recipes with baking powder – replace with a mixture of one part baking soda, two parts arrowroot powder. (or arrowroot and cream of tartar – 1 tsp of each and a half tsp of baking soda) This is how to make corn-free baking powder.

In all recipes with eggs – I replace them with an organic egg replacer, but only up to three eggs. For larger recipes, I just make small batches to keep it at three “eggs” or less.

I will admit… looking at our Christmas Menu can be a bit depressing. I try to focus on what I CAN have instead of what I CAN’T. I realized I’ll miss having rolls with our meal. So I found a biscuit recipe. It’s all in the attitude. What’s even more important – there is a pair of eyes watching me. If I pout about what I can’t eat – she will even more. If I eat things on my list of no-no’s – she will too.

The main thing – Christmas is not about the food. It’s about who is at the table. And why.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

