RSS Feed

Recipe Switch-A-Roo

This year I am doing a Recipe Switch-A-Roo!!

file000190471840

I am trading my traditional holiday recipes for safe, allergy-free ones.

The problem is…

(I haven’t started yet.)

This week I’ll hunt high and low through all of my pinned recipes, bookmarked blogs, and kindled books.

My Guidelines (just so you know what I’m working with): Dairy-free, gluten-free, yeast-free, corn-free, egg-free, and peanut-free. Also NO honey or lemons/citrus. One more thing, for savory recipes, NO garlic or carrots. Is that a long enough list of foods to avoid? Soy-free is also helpful, but not necessary.

Recipes I want to replace:

Peanut butter balls

Humdingers

Cinnamon rolls

Snickerdoodles

Christmas Cookies (Iced sugar cookies)

Savory:

Sweet potato casserole

Cajun injection for fried turkey

And you, my friends – Please join my Recipe Switch-A-Roo! Leave a comment and answer, “What holiday recipe is YOUR favorite?”

Allergy-free friends, “WHERE do you find your replacement guidelines/recipes?”

I’ll report back next week with my findings!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

6 responses »

  1. You have quite the task ahead of you! I only have to replace corn, but considering reducing gluten and maybe sugars. My favorite holiday recipe is a Buche de Noel, chocolate cake with whipped cream filling. Hmm… chocolate gluten free roll cake that holds together? Luckily I can still do eggs!

    Reply
  2. Check out this blog with wonderful recipes that should fit a lot of these specifications.
    Healing Cuisine http://www.healingcuisinebyelise.com/p/recipes-index.html?m=1

    Reply
  3. Kimberly, check my boards on Pinterest. There are a lot of allergy free options. I can also start forwarding you some of my Paleo.Primal.grain-free blogs i follow. You can also check the people I follow on FB,. There are a lot their that have allergy specific changes.
    Spunky coconut comes to mind first. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

