RSS Feed

KimBalls

In the craziness of the holidays, when I’m running out the door and need a bite to eat, or a quick breakfast, this is what I grab. I imagine you can dip them in chocolate for a special holiday treat. I challenge one of you to do that for me and report back how it tastes. Since I’m not yet eating chocolate (except the time I cheated and had a kiss – OK 2 or 3… *Sigh*), I’ll just dream.

SAM_1389

I saw several recipes for protein balls like these when I was searching for my KimBars recipe. Most of the recipes I found had LOTS of ingredients. After seeing those recipes, it took me awhile to experiment and make them. They are not-quite-paleo, but I can eat quinoa, so I gave them a try. I’ve made them many times, all using a different ingredient list. I found the fewer ingredients, the easier. Take my recipe and throw in whatever you think will work!

KimBalls

  • 3 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 overripe banana – smushed
  • 12 oz jar  almond butter (crunchy or smooth – I prefer crunchy)
  • 3 tbsp chia
  • 3 tbsp cacoa sweet nibs
  • Sweetner of choice
    • Mix all ingredients.
    • Form into balls.
    • Freeze.

***When it’s time to eat them, take how many you want out of the freezer and let them thaw a little.***

Eat them while they’re still partly frozen. If they thaw completely they become mushballs – ugh.

I guestimate that this recipe makes 40 balls. I didn’t count them. (Sorry! The kids made them into balls and put them in the freezer, then we ate them too fast for a specific count!) The nutritional breakdown per ball is: 96 calories   7 carbs   7g fat   3g protein

Other ingredients I’ve added: Crushed nuts, Hemp hearts, Dates.

Enjoy! IF you do cover them in chocolate, be sure to let me know how it tastes!!!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

