RSS Feed

Stay a Little Longer – FMF

This is my weekly Five Minute Friday post! Lisa-Jo Baker over at Tales from a Gypsy Mama invites any blogger to participate. Check it out!

Stay

As I leave her room, a small voice whispers “Stay mama” but I am too busy, and too annoyed. I whip around, grit my teeth and push the words out, “Not right now, but I’ll be back in five minutes and we’ll see.” She controlls the sniffles, and I can tell she’s trying hard not to cry. My heart begins to soften, but I’m too busy to notice. I close the door and walk quickly down the hall, bumping into my teenager. Looking up into her eyes – when did she get so tall?- I compliment her on her hair and throw in “Where ya goin?” She turns from me and mumbles something. Words just popped out of my mouth, “Stay a little longer.” My heart completely melts, being busy doesn’t matter, and I’m the one fighting back tears. The little doesn’t last. They grow taller than us and are busier than we are. She smiles and walks off. I turn around and walk back into the little one’s room. I’m not too busy to stay, I decide as I hold her for just a little longer.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

2 responses »

  1. Wow- I’m not a mom but this pulls at my heart strings! So glad you can ‘stay’ and recognize all the amazing little moments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

