RSS Feed

When Plans Change

The meeting time’s an hour and fifteen minutes from now. My husband’s not home. The kids have try outs in fifteen minutes and its ten minutes away. If I take them, I’ll miss my meeting. If I wait for my husband, they’ll be late.

I have two choices: panic or pray.

I pray.

It hits me. The topic of the meeting is about the hearts of our children.

How can I touch the hearts of my children if I leave them stranded?

Do I spend more time going to meetings, attending workshops, reading books, participating in Bible studies than I do just being with my kids? What is that telling their hearts? (another blog for another day!)

When my plans change I have two choices: fit or foster.

Normally when my plans change unexpectedly I have a Mommy Fit. I pout and stomp and whine. Maybe not on the outside, but inside I sure am! I’ve been known to snap at my kids a little faster and give glaring looks. Oh you know what I’m talking about! And when my husband is behind the change of plans, whether intentionally or not, the cold shoulder works well too – even if it’s simply withholding a smile.

This time I thought about my children’s hearts. Their hearts are mine to foster. I happily changed my plans. We talked about try outs on the way there. I smiled and encouraged them, rejoicing that traffic held my husband back and I was able to participate. When he arrived, I waited until they discovered his presence and allowed it to be a surprise.

Changing my heart allowed me to nurture theirs.

Building Bridges – when your plans change do you panic or pray? Panic sways the bridge, prayer strengthens it.

*If you made it to the meeting, can someone please give me a set of notes? Thanks!*

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

One response »

  1. Nice post! Life is full of changed and “unplanned” plans …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

