RSS Feed

Pumpkin or Banana Pancakes- dairy free, wheat free, egg free, corn free

This recipe has become our Saturday morning tradition. We make it in two versions, banana or pumpkin. You could probably do pumpkin and banana combo… but that’s one we haven’t tried! This is the recipe I recently made and had to be extra-resourceful. I ran out of milk and the only think I had left was the thick part of the canned coconut milk that I use for my coffee. I just added water to it until it was more of a milkish consistency! Modify this recipe as needed!

Combine all wet ingredients

  • 3 eggs (or egg replacement – see note below the recipe)
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin (One can of all natural pumpkin) OR 3/4 cup mashed banana (2 bananas or less)
  • 1 cup milk – (I use coconut or almond, but you can use any milk or milk substitute)

Add dry ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups Oat flour (I use a coffee grinder and grind steel cut oats into a flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder (***I substitute with a corn free version of my own – see below***)
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Optional: Stevia or sweetner of choice

Mix until combined.

Lightly oil griddle (coconut oil is my favorite!)

Over medium heat (I prefer 325) cook 1/4 cup or less of batter – smoothing out each pancake so it is not too thick.

When they look halfway dry, I flip. The pumpkin ones seem to have a sticky consistency inside. That could very possibly be error on my part!

We love to top the banana ones with a nut butter while Maple syrup works nicely on the pumpkin!

Egg replacements

  • 1 tbsp ground white chia seeds and 3 tbsp water – stir quickly and let sit for 5 – 10 mins until it thickens.
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds and 3 tbsp water – stir quickly for a minute until it thickens
  • Commercial egg replacement – follow directions on box

Egg replacements work for up to three eggs. If I need more, I make separate batches.

Baking Powder – Corn free

  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tsp arrowroot powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda

I make small batches to keep on hand as a replacement.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

