RSS Feed

Resourcefulness

This has been a week of resourcefulness.
When dishes piled up due to no dishwasher detergent, I mixed together a little of this and a little of that and Viola! Dishwasher detergent!

When I ran out of milk, coconut milk, AND realized the almond milk was past its prime, I mixed some water into the solid mass of canned coconut milk (what I use for cream) and Viola! enough  milkish liquid to complete the recipe! (which I will post on Friday!) Breakfast saved!

When my daughter changed her mind for a costume the morning of the party, she found the right color fabric in an old bin upstairs and 4 hours later – Viola! A new costume. No… I will not be posting a picture.

When I didn’t want to buy super expensive coconut butter – actually, I didn’t even know what it was – I found a recipe and Viola! helped my daughter make some, saving lots of money!

When I decided $4 a can was too much for tomato sauce or paste allergy free for me, I decided to make it from scratch! Viola! A  new way to do things!

When I realized I wouldn’t have run out of dishwasher detergent, or milk and wouldn’t be sewing all day if I just planned ahead. Wow! What a realization!

Then I had another realization. Diligence  I remember a time when I would’ve given up. I wouldn’t try to find a new way. Instead, the dishes would pile up until I could make it to the store, breakfast plans would just be thrown out the window, no new costume would be created, and the can of tomato sauce would’ve made an appearance in my shopping cart. Diligence. Ahhhh… it feels so good!

Why do I do those things? For my family. To keep the house running smoothly. Sensitivity for those with, well, sensitivities. Out of love.

Sometimes, building bridges takes resourcefulness and diligence! (ok… and probably a bit of planning too!)

*If you want one of my recipes, just ask!*

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

