RSS Feed

Whispers of Strength

Sometimes God’s hand moves in powerful ways. He pushed aside the waters of the sea and held them back to so His people could cross on dry land.

Sometimes God’s hand moves in little ways. A movement barely even noticeable, but enough to send a butterfly across my path, reminding me of His love, and bringing tears to my eyes.

Sometimes God’s Word shouts into our hearts. We drop to our knees instantly, praying, moved to seek forgiveness and mend a relationship.

Sometimes God’s Word whispers gently. A whisper so soft the moment almost passes, yet that simple conviction brings a year of growth.

Today is a day of whispers and conviction. The whispers have been there before, I am sure of it, yet my heart did not recognize or receive it.

I am busy.

My whisper of conviction – slow my heart. Just because my body is moving doesn’t mean my heart needs to follow that pace.

  • Slow your heart. Think through each activity and event. Face them with a calm readiness instead of a hurried whirlwind. It is the whirlwind that knocks bricks off of bridges.
  • Show your children there’s a better way. Don’t become upset with them if they are not prepared when you aren’t either.  Be prepared and place more bricks on the bridge giving it strength.
  • Listen for the whispers of strength.

Take time to slow down and enjoy the connection, building bridges with preparation instead of taking them down through hurried whirlwinds.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

