RSS Feed

One New Thing – October 29th

Exercise
Some people love it. I am not one of those. It is a huge challenge. The movements just feel awkward and unnatural. Did I mention that it hurts? I avoid it. Sure I’ve started on programs.  At one time I had three walking buddies. We walked on different days at different times. Some days I walked twice. I think it lasted about one month… maybe two. It was a good thing – until the Texas heat swooped in and scorched the earth.
Last week my One New Thing was to start exercising again. I walked on three days! That’s good… But I need to work on it more. I started walking outside at 6 am, by myself, in the dark, and quickly turned around and opted for the treadmill. I noticed that I ended up watching more TV. I normally don’t turn on the TV in the mornings, except when I exercise (or I did on the whole three days that I attempted to exercise!). I always managed to leave the TV on – you know so I don’t miss the next segment one of the announcers has been telling me is a must-see! This week I want to keep walking but I am going to change something. When I am on the treadmill, I will watch a video or listen to a podcast of sermons. I am starting with all the messages we’ve missed our pastor preach over the past few months.
My One New Thing this week will be to exercise my spirit as I exercise my body.
About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

One response »

  1. I try to go to the gym 3 times a week, but since I have been back from the conference it has been more like 2x’s. I have had a hard time fitting in the writing and exercising, plus everything else. Maybe I need to start getting up at 6am to go that seems like the only way to make it work, when my days are so busy. I do love the idea of listening to sermons while exercising. That is a great idea, Kim!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

