RSS Feed

“I wish” becomes “I AM!”

Darkness and fog surrounded me as I tied my shoes and started my morning walk. The sky began to lighten, but darkness still reigned the early morning hour. I walked alone, lost in my thoughts until I noticed my shadow. (Cue fairy dust music.) Long and lean, it stretched before me encouraging me to keep moving. As I watched my shadow, the thoughts that ran through my head were far different than a few months ago. Back then, my shadow would’ve mocked me – even if it stretched out long and lean, my eyes would not accept it that way. What changed my perception? One New Thing.

Participating in One New Thing has shifted my way of thinking. Instead of living in a state of “I wish,” I live in a state of “I am.”

  • I wish I were losing weight became I AM losing weight.
  • I wish I felt better became I AM feeling better.
  • I wish I didn’t suffer from food allergies became I AM doing all I can.
  • I wish I had time to cook healthy meals became I AM cooking healthy meals.
  • I wish I didn’t rely on coffee to wake up became I AM waking up alert.
  • I wish I spent more time in the Word became I AM spending daily time with God.
  • I wish my family ate healthy became I AM feeding my children healthy food.
  • I wish I felt like exercising became I AM exercising, even if I don’t feel like it.

It didn’t start overnight.

I did One New Thing at a time. I knew I needed to change so my health would change. Waking up and starting everything at once is hard. Probably impossible. In some warped way, I didn’t think I deserved to be skinny and fit. The fact is, you can’t be skinny and fit if you eat junk and sit around. So, I guess you can say, I didn’t deserve it. That sounds harsh, but if you don’t desire it, you won’t work for it. If you don’t work for it, you don’t deserve it.

If a man is lazy, the rafters sag;
if his hands are idle, the house leaks. (Ecclesiastes 10: 18)

Before I even realized it, and without even trying, my thinking changed. I see my shadow as long and lean and I accept it. Why? The answer is easy! I am actively doing good things for myself.

Anyone who guards what he says guards his life.
But anyone who speaks without thinking will be destroyed.

People who refuse to work want things and get nothing.
But the longings of people who work hard are completely satisfied.

Those who do right hate what is false.
But those who do wrong bring shame and dishonor. (Proverbs 13:3-5)

When you actively take care of yourself, you can’t help but think YOU DESERVE IT.

Maintain your bridge – work hard and don’t let your rafters sag!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

6 responses »

  1. I love it, girl. SO true. And now I need to get up and go for a walk…

    Reply
  2. For most of us, you have to struggle, and really work, for anything you want in life; it won’t ever be spoon-feed to you!

    Reply
  3. Janet Spradling

    Kimberly,
    I so enjoy your blogs for a couple of reasons. I love seeing your skill as a writer; that always makes an English teacher’s heart sing. And I am loving following your one new thing posts. I have had some health issues this past year, and although some of them would have happend no matter what I did, there are some things I can do to insure that I am as healthy as I can possibly be in the future. I, like most people, try to do it all at once and burn out quickly and give up. But I see your success and your wisdom of crossing one hurdle and changing one thing in my life and being successful with that before I move to the next. I am taking your words to heart and have started my “one new thing” this week. I so look forward to your new posts.

    Reply
    • Oh! Ms. Spradling! To have my high school English teacher read my writings makes my stomach ball up in knots as if I forgot to take an exam, while at the same time tears well up in appreciation. Oh my, did that comma go there? All kidding aside (I’ll just pretend I was kidding) it really means a lot to know that someone that poured into my life and writing is touched by something I wrote. Thank you for your comment. It made my day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

