RSS Feed

A Week of Unwise Words

For some reason, this week has been a bit tough. I’ve lost my temper a few times. (sidenote: Why do we say we’ve lost our temper? What I really want to do is lose mine FOR GOOD. The phrase ‘lost my cool’ is quite accurate, but wouldn’t that mean I have the coolness factor to begin with?!) Back to my temper. I didn’t lose it on a huge scale, just enough to mean my voice got ahead of my thoughts and I said some unwise things. Thankfully, I didn’t do any major damage or name call, I just became very long-winded in lectures with snarky comments and exaggerated truths.

For some reason, this verse had popped up a few times:

The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down. Proverbs 14:1

 Just when I was trying to avoid the “Foolish” word, there it is – plain as day. I’ve had a foolish week. I’ve owned up to it and apologized when needed, but building the house is a longer process than tearing it down. Upon waking this morning, I prayed to be wise (the whole time thinking “How do I? Is it possible?”), then I opened Bible Gateway’s verse of the day on my phone.

The steadfast of mind You will keep in perfect peace, Because he trusts in You. Trust in the Lord forever, For in God the Lord, we have an everlasting Rock. Isaiah 26: 3, 4

There is my answer! I need a steadfast mind! How do keep my mind steadfast? Trusting in Him! When I see Him as my everlasting Rock, it is easy to rest on His solid promises.

For some reason, the verse of the day on my computer’s website of  Bible Gateway is different. But oh so timely!

Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

What a promise! My week of unwise words is over. I will stay steadfast with my gaze turned up and my feet on the rock with my heart delighted in Him!

Building Bridges (or houses) takes time and work, unlike foolishness that tears down with just a word.

Leave a Reply

