RSS Feed

It’s time I take my own advice.

It’s time I take my own advice.

Conviction.

For we know, brothers loved by God, that he has chosen you, because our gospel came to you not simply with words, but also with power, with the Holy Spirit and with deep conviction. You know how we lived among you for your sake. You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit. I Thessalonians 1: 4-6

Last week I wrote about MENTORING. While I have mentor/friends in my life and occasional coffee chats – informal accountability – I am not regularly mentoring anyone. I love the idea and am so thankful for my go-to mentors, but I haven’t actively pursued true mentoring. Anytime the topic of mentors comes up, I put it a little higher on my to-do list, but it quickly falls back down the priority list. “I’m comfortable with my walls. What if mentoring challenges me? It is definitely NOT in my comfort zone right now.” Those thoughts keep me from living what I preach.

Until Today.

Conviction stirred in my heart AFTER I posted that message. It’s time I take my own advice.

Today I am meeting with someone to discuss mentoring options for me. Will I be a mentor or a mentoree? Maybe both?

I. Am. So. Nervous.

The butterflies are battling it out deep inside me.

It’s time to live what I preach.

Building bridges often moves you out of your comfort zone.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

