RSS Feed

Heroes

Today is a day to think about heroes.

I heard a stat on the radio that over 800 first responders have died since 9 – 11. Many are due to lung disorders and cancer. As I researched this, the numbers appear to be higher, closer to 1,000, as the number of 800 is actually from 2010.

I can’t help thinking – the tragedy of that day will never end.

I also wonder if this knowledge will keep people from responding in the future.

No, I don’t think so.

Those who rush head-long into dangerous situations are heroes. Hero’s do not let things like stats keep them from saving lives.

Am I a first responder? Do I step into a dangerous situation to lend a hand? No. I am not a hero to the world. But I am to my kids and my husband. I am their first responder. Maybe someday I will save the world. Right now, it’s just my family. But to me, they ARE the world.

A hero doesn’t just build bridges, hero’s save them.

*Remember the post about one of my hero’s? If you don’t remember, you can read about her here. There is an update that I haven’t yet posted, but if you follow me on facebook, you’ve heard about it. Instead of my words telling you about it, you can hear it in her words in the documentary Blind Judoka.*

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

