RSS Feed

One More Question about CFA

To all of those who read my last post, Thank you for stopping by. I really enjoyed all of the discussions that came out of it. I learned so much from these interactions. I am going to try to share with you what I learned, saving the most important for the end… so hang with me.

1. It doesn’t take much to start a debate. (no explanation needed.)

2. It’s good to question good things. Questioning good things doesn’t mean you are knocking them. However, when you question things, people tend to think you are against those things. (Just because I questioned CFA  does NOT mean I am against them or the ideals behind the whole thing.)

3. If a person or group of people see hate all around them, they tend to think anything that is said about them that does not line up with their thinking is a form of hate. This is human nature and they way we protect ourselves. (This is what makes me so sad. All of the stories I’ve heard about Chick-Fil-A Appreciation Day were how nice the people were at the stores and in line. They were standing up for their beliefs about family values and freedom of speech. I didn’t hear any of them talk about hate. On the other hand, people were accusing them of being hateful and saying hateful things about CFA and the people who ate there. There is a double standard here.)

4. I learned that CFA already spends millions on protecting and advocating for the family. I knew they were a company that stood behind good values – and I’m talking about the value menu – and were pro-family, but I did not realize how much they already donated and gave. Good job! Keep it up Chick-Fil-A!  (I’m eating crow on this one… or is that chicken?)

5. People really do just want acceptance and love. In all of the communication (through personal conversations, facebook posts, and private messages) one hit me hard.

Thank you for saying that Jesus wants to sit and eat with me.

THAT is what my last post was about. Love – what I think Jesus would have done.

In case you missed it somewhere, I want to be completely clear:

  • I support Chick-Fil-A.
  • I support all who ate there on Chick-Fil-A Appreciation Day.
  • I support Freedom of Speech and feels like it needs to protected.
  • I support the traditional view of the family and want it protected.
  • I will vote to keep these things intact.
  • I also support showing love and ending hate, we can all sit together even if we disagree.

So, my question this time to all who ate at Chick-Fil-A:

You showed your support for family values and freedom of speech, now will you go out and VOTE for what you supported?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

One response »

  1. I will!!! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

