RSS Feed

The Words Were Stuck

It takes time for her thoughts to form words. Before words come, the expression on her face tells you she is thinking. If she knows you will sit and listen, she will go through the painful process of trying to form words. I say it is painful because I can’t imagine it to be an easy thing to talk for over 80 years, then lose the ability. It takes time for her thought to form words. Most people miss it.

There is faulty and lengthy process for words to form then work their way to her lips. Often, the wrong word comes out and she has to correct herself. When the words finally escape the prison of her mind, they are murky and hard to decipher. Hazel is only able to say one or two words. Her few words have to convey a complete thought. It takes time. Most people miss it.

There is also a game of charades that comes with the words. Her wrinkled, curved finger points and motions as she wheels her chair around to help convey her thoughts. Her movements are not slow, but clever. Her motions show an active mind. A mind that wants to communicate. But communication now takes time. Most people miss it.

Hazel now requires extra care. People are busy. It’s hard to make time. It’s even harder to sit and wait for the communication to take place.

Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless. Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world. James 1:26 – 27

Serving and loving others brings blessings to our lives. It takes time. Most people miss it. Sitting and talking to Hazel may not be as easy as it once was, and it definitely takes longer. But the blessing. Oh, the special, uplifting blessing! The twinkle in her eye and her crooked smile is pure and faultless, a reminder to not let the pollution of the world render our religion worthless.

It takes time. Most people miss it.

Don’t miss the opportunity –  build and maintain bridges with orphans and widows.

I know I’m guilty of going to nursing homes for the annual Christmas Carol singing. The kids sing, I hug a few necks and quickly leave, uncomfortable seeing so many needs. I feel good, like I’ve done my duty. I haven’t. I did not follow James 1:26. It was worthless religion. I just threw a stone at a bridge. I didn’t build or maintain any relationships. So what am I going to do now? Honestly, I don’t know. I do know that when God opens our eyes to a situation, he provides a way to serve.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

One response »

  1. Wow! This was beautifully written. Thank you for the reminder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

