RSS Feed

16 Years of Marriage – Cruising Through Life Together!

Our marriage is 16 years old. To honor that milestone, I have a few auto-observations.

1. Stay in the car. Before we married, Kevin and I made the commitment to never use the word Divorce. It is not an option.

2. Who’s in the drivers seat? We strive to let God be the one in the driver’s seat, but it’s not always how it works out. He’s the safest driver. Next up: Kevin. I know that when I get in the drivers seat and try to control things – we are headed for a wreck FOR SURE!

3. He opens the door for me. Chivarly. I love it when he goes out of his way for me!

4. Follow a map! The map we follow is the Bible. Sometimes we have gotten off course, but when we get back on track, our marriage thrives.

5. Before you buy the car, read the owner’s manual. Before you get married, study who you are going to marry. Many churches and pastors require counselling before you get married.

6. Sometimes you have to take the car to a mechanic. If you have struggles in your marriage, seek help with counseling.

7. Enjoy the ride! Don’t keep waiting for the next stop, the next big event, the next raise, the next child… you might miss the blessings of today.

8. Keep your eyes on the road – Not in the rearview mirror. If you focus on what is in the past, you will miss what is yet to come!

9. Detours are inevitable. Be flexible and willing to change your route.

10. Sitting idle is a waste of gas. In marriage, idols (and addictions) are a waste of time and energy.

11. Fix a flat. Don’t let your marriage get flat. Keep things fun and fresh.

12. Routine maintenance.  Just like you change the oil and keep up with things under the hood of you car running smoothly, taking care of yourself and keeping healthy will help your marriage stay healthy and running smoothly too!

13. Drive safely and obey rules of the road. In marriage, there are rules that need to be followed too. Don’t be checkin’ under any other car’s hoods!

14. Keys – A key part of marriage is respect.

15. Take road trips! Spend time together – without kids. Regular dates and weekends away are very important.

16. It’s not about arriving at the destination, it’s all about the journey.

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

