RSS Feed

Just a little update

Summer is here and we are enjoying the outdoors before it gets sweltering here in Texas! The numbers are creeping higher but we are still enjoying our time outdoors. Next week my husband is taking two of our kids camping. The temps will be nearing 100. Have fun, y’all! I’ll be inside enjoying AC! 

We are doing summer school this summer. I think time off from the strict school schedule is important, but not as important as keeping facts fresh and reading levels up. And I need to confess, we did fall behind in the higher level maths and sciences, so the girls are working hard to complete their courses. Our focus this summer is also on writing. The girls keep a journal daily, creative writing weekly and we just started the research paper process. 

Speaking of writing, I am still working on Reflecting Him: Student Edition for Reflective Life Ministries. My goal is to complete it by the end of July. For the next three nights, our church is doing a family VBS – Supersonic. Fun for the whole family! I am so excited about this program! My favorite part – bridging families together as we worship, learn, and pray together. (I’m also a bit proud of the family huddles… ) 

If you enjoyed the family huddles at Supersonic, that’s what I’m doing in my abundance of free time – writing family devotions. Stay tuned, I’ll be posting one a month on here for you guys to enjoy. 

On a more personal note, I’m learning lots this summer about food allergies. I’ve known for years that I have an allergy to corn, but it didn’t seem to bother me much. A few months ago, I started feeling bad- extremely tired and enough sinus pressure to feel like a sinus infection that wouldn’t go away topped off with stomach issues and the cherry on top was an increase in my level of irritability. I finally linked it to food. My eating habits have changed drastically. No corn or chicken. Did you know corn is in everything??? Not only is it dusted on coffee filters, and used in food packaging, it is also in everything from salt (added iodine) and anything enriched (flours and rice) to fructose and dextrose and lots of those other unpronounceable words. Just for fun, I’m also staying away from most dairy. It’s been quite a challenge!

My niece, Jordan Mouton, has qualified for London Paralympics – Opening Ceremony August 29, 2012. She has such an amazing, inspirational story. Please go to her Blog/Webpage – read all about her – and consider supporting her on her “Road to London”. She is an amazing young lady!
www.teamjordan2012.wordpress.com

That’s my update! What’s going on in your world?

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

