RSS Feed

If I can trust God for a loft bed, I can trust Him for bigger things, right?!

A lesson in trust I’m still learning -

In a conversation with my daughter, I asked her what would make her happy with her room. Her room has issues – I guess you can say it’s a work in progress. We turned a dining room into a bedroom, so it doesn’t have a closet. At one point her room didn’t have doors. Now it has doors, but still no closet. I dare you to look inside of most tween girls (in America) closet. No thanks! That’s a dare for sure! Closets are the place where little girl meets teen. Pretend dress up shoes next to the first pair of real heels. Dolls and lip gloss share a shelf. Not having a closet leads to lots of piles and corners stuffed with memories. We were brainstorming solutions. One idea was to change her bed into a loft bed. Right in the middle of a normal, everyday conversation something major slipped out of my mouth.

If you want a loft bed, pray for one. Trust God to provide.

I challenged her to pray. Trust.

Then I quickly wanted to forget the whole conversation because I don’t have the energy to redecorate a room right now.

Later that day, my husband heard of the plans and gave me the “what are you guys up to” look. I assured him I wasn’t blowing our budget and that we were just brainstorming. Then it hit me. Why not pray? Why not seriously pray for a bed? Why did I challenge her to pray for something – was I setting her up for excuses and you just must not have prayed hard enough scenarios? Or was I really going to trust and pray along with her?

Those thought lead me straight to my knees. I simply prayed and trusted.

Two days later I went to a garage sale. I wanted four items. I prayed for God to provide. One of those was a loft bed. No bed. So I prayed again.

The next day, someone in our neighborhood listed a loft bed for $5o. Within an hour I knocked on the door. I prayed again and then offered $40. SOLD!

The bed is now in our daughter’s room. Every time I look at the bed, I thank God for his provisions.

Now it’s two days later. My daughter’s desire to serve God overseas is sprouting wings! The opportunity to go on a mission trip fell into our lap! It’s way out of our budget. Not only that, the date of the trip was moved up several weeks. That left us not much time to raise the needed funds. The night the tickets were purchased, I didn’t sleep. How quickly I forgot the trust and provision of the loft bed.

After two days of worry – I fell before God asking for his forgiveness. I wasn’t trusting. My faith was weak. I trust in the easy, non-life changing things – but when it comes to the major stuff, I worry. I often believe for others, but when it comes right down to it, I don’t always trust the good will come to me.

He forgives and makes things new. My faith is stronger and I trust he will provide. Not only that, I have a new expectancy that great things are going to come from this! My excitement builds each day.

I will tell you that a part of me still struggles. Doubts creep in. Fear seeps into my thoughts and dreams. That fear and doubt is not from God.

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith 1 Peter 5:7-9

I trust you, Lord, for loft beds and mission trips. Above that, I trust you with my girls – my heart.

Weak faith builds weak bridges. Faith and trust builds a bridge with a strong foundation!

Please pray for us as we stand strong. Read this for more information about the mission trip!

Do any of you have a trust struggle? Encourage each other in the comment section!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

Leave a Reply

