RSS Feed

Five Minute Friday: ROOTS

I am participating in a blog link-up, called Five Minute Friday over at Lisa-Jo’s site Lisa-Jo Baker – tales from a gypsy mama. There are a couple of rules, but basically you just write (no edits! *gulp*) about a specific topic for five full minutes and link back to her.

ROOTS

We load the car with presents, clothes and winter coats, set the alarm for way-too-early and drive. And drive. And drive. Finally arriving at our destination to see people we cherish and try to pick up where we left off last year.
The kids are pros at this. They can hug their cousins and run off to play in seconds. The teens take a bit longer. I can see the girls sizing each other up = eyeballing each other with shy smiles. They are so different how will they ever find common ground? But they always do.
I am not a pro. I was not born into this family and communications can be hard. I often feel left out. Some years I don’t have the energy to try very hard. But’s it my husbands roots, his heritage, so this year, I’m going to try as hard as I can to connect – with his roots.

That’s my Five Minute Friday! Hop on over and see what others are writing about. Or better yet, if you blog – join in!

About Kimberly Vogel

I am a mom of four beautiful daughters, a writer, and a certified Early Childhood and Elementary Teacher who recently made the switch from teaching in a classroom to teaching her children at home. I am often found in the children’s area of my church where I volunteer and lead a children’s program. Writing is a natural outpouring of my love for my Savior. Follow along while I share my journey as a bridge builder with you. My prayer is that you start building bridges too!

6 responses »

  1. So so beautiful. loved this.

    visiting from five minute friday. http://www.ordinaryinspirations.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. Very well written! I remember those times growing up – and I only had ONE cousin! Haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

